Skip to content

Well played!

July 4, 2006

I thought I’d posted that I would be in Seattle for the weekend, but I suppose I forgot. The post is sitting in my drafts section. Anyway, Seattle is a beautiful city, and I’ll have the pictures up as proof later. Everyone said I was lucky to be there during a time when the weather was great, however seems to me that great weather or no great weather the fam and I could enjoy living there easily.

Wow, Italy and Germany played a great match. Though I was rooting against Germany as per usual, I really didn’t want them to lose. It is a sports cliche however it is truly a shame that someone had to be sent home this time. Yet, what a great finish for the Italian side! Germany did everything right on the first Italian goal, it was just a masterful strike into the top left side. Then of course they had to push forward on the wings, and then Italy just caught them on a counter and finished them off.

Well, France better prevail. They played well against Brasil. France’s defense was particularly great, not allowing Brasil the space to play “beautiful,” and their midfield was heroic, with Ribery’s long runs.

England’s lost caused my best friend to destroy a television (quite by accident, I mean, are plasma TVs really so delicate that a plastic bottle would crack the screen? If so, give me a HD tube screen, pls). There’s a lot of talk blaming the coach, and well in international soccer that’s usually the case, warranted (As with Zico and Japan) or unwarranted (as with England). Without Owen, England didn’t have a really dangerous forward (sorry Rooney, I don’t care for you much) and Lampard should have stepped it up. Well, they were really sent home by Portugal’s keeper, weren’t they? England, still winless on penalties in the World Cup.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2006 9:57 pm

    Aw man, I wish I’d known you’ve been watching the World Cup. I’ve watched nearly every game. I’m going with Italy, but only because I have an Italia jersey that I can wear to the Belcourt on Sunday. And besides, that French goalie with all his kissin’ after the games freaks me out.

    It was good meeting you.

  2. July 9, 2006 6:51 am

    Linday, same here. I don’t think I’m going to make it out to the Belcourt, though I might try. Can’t say that in a tournament that inspires as much passion as the World Cup that I’ve heard someone pick a team based on the kit they have to wear, but one does what one can, no? Just remember to say, Forza Italia! or Forza Azzuri! and you’ll be down with your side.

Leave a Reply

