Skip to content

Post Blogger Meet-up Type of Post

July 6, 2006

Went of to check out the WKRN Nashville Super Dooper Blogger confab meet and greet tonight. I was dead curious to see what you lot look like in person. I definitely had an idea of how some of you appeared via pictures posted on the web and so on, though many did not match the visions I had in my head. For example, I knew the square jawed visage of Sarcastro, however I expected to see him sitting over a pint of ale with a stream of profanities and obscure references teaming from his lips, not canoodling with a young lady with a mixed drink (girly man). Though we tend to disagree, he reminds me a lot of one of my good buds from law school. Aunt B., noticing I appeared all at sea in that room of unfamiliar faces, was kind enough to invite me over for a chat. She has the same presence as one of my journalistic mentors, Jim Ridley, and everyone who knows Jim loves Jim.

Chris Wage and I talked Brazilian music. The newest Pith-er Lindsay Ferrier and I discussed trumpets and grandeur (inside joke). I struggled to recall that I had met Mary Mancini in another setting, however tonight we were able to map out a plan for the ascendance of the Democrats in
Tennessee. Kat Coble could not hide her mortification when she learned she was talking with Gandalf Mantooth. LOL. Brittney, the hub of blogger activity in this town, knew not of my alter ego, Mark Mays. Hope the surprise was pleasant. Made small talk with Huck. Met Kate of Metroblog Nashville and shook hands with Jackson Miller. Bob Krumm asked ME a tough question for a change. (this is kinda like on Romper Room when the host would say random names and you think she is talking about you. I believe those were the first “shout outs”). Met a couple WKRN bigwigs.

I was most disappointed to learn that I missed the appearance of Nemesisboy, clad in a Darth Vader mask trying to drink a beer. I know that somewhere Andy Kauffman is laughing his ass off. I also didn’t get to talk with Roger Abramson, which was a shame.  

Too those I missed, all apologies like Kurt Cobain.

The one thing I learned is that probably 99% of hits to this thing comes from outside Nashville . . .

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2006 3:02 pm

    I wasn’t mortified. I was frightened. I couldn’t remember the last interaction we had and I was afraid I’d written something that would cause you to deck me.

    I was also confused because I didn’t realise that Mark Mays and GM were the same person. I’m such an idiot.

  2. July 7, 2006 3:50 pm

    It was great talking with you — and it was the most serious I got all night. I guess you really bring that out in a girl, huh? 😉

  3. July 9, 2006 6:48 am

    KC: Well, I don’t think you have. If Mark Rose hasn’t done it, nobody can.

    KO: Perhaps, though I’m afraid I usually confuse seriousness with repulsion.

Leave a Reply

