Skip to content

Oh you political bloggers, you slay me.

August 10, 2006

You want to be taken so bloody seriously, then when you do something stupid, try to be snarky, or generally fuck up and someone calls you on it, you’re like Ric Flair getting caught with brass knuckles in his tights. “Oh hey, I wasn’t doing anything! It’s just a blog! It’s all jokes! You MSM politically correct goat faces are so uptight!”

1) You want to get in the executive bathroom? Act like a professional. If not, be happy with middle management status.
2) Some people need to stop telling other people what they shouldn’t be offended by. Next time someone tells me I’m overreacting to something I’ll show them the definition of the word, “overreaction.”

EDIT: Can someone tell me why this post is getting so many hits from people looking at the picture of Ric Flair? Did the nature boy do something interesting recently?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2006 12:36 pm

    conversely, don’t tell me I’m required to be concerned when you’re offended.

  2. August 10, 2006 12:45 pm

    Oh Uncle, I’ve not any interest in having you give a fuck whether or not I’m offended. Also, the converse of what I stated is not what you’ve offered. The converse is, when I say I’m offended, STFU or comment, just don’t tell me that I shouldn’t be offended.

  3. August 10, 2006 12:59 pm

    Also, the converse of what I stated is not what you’ve offered.

    That was not my intent.

    The converse is, when I say I’m offended, STFU or comment, just don’t tell me that I shouldn’t be offended.

    While I concur that telling someone they shouldn’t be offended is, err, stupid, your ultimatum has one choice that would require someone being concerned when you’re offended. And, well, most bloggers aren’t concerned with that. And i mean ‘you’ in the general sense, not you specifically. My $0.02. YMMV.

  4. August 10, 2006 1:14 pm

    And, since you’re trying to get all high-school-debate-team on me: You’ve made a demand, followed by some sort of threat. I don’t know that there really is a ‘converse’ to that other than ‘if you meet my demand, i’ll be nice’.

  5. August 10, 2006 1:28 pm

    How can it be an ultimatum if I’m only disallowing one course of action? You can comment, which allows many options, shut up (preferred), run, hide, stand on your head, whatever. Just don’t do the stupid thing (which too many people seem inclined to do).

  6. August 10, 2006 1:29 pm

    You need to stop overreacting. It offends me.

  7. August 10, 2006 1:33 pm

    you said ‘don’t do x or i’ll x’ That’s an ultimatum in my book. And, err, most books.

  8. August 10, 2006 1:34 pm

    JESUS Sarcastro could you have been ANY MORE PREDICTABLE? The play here would have been for you, because of your sterling rep, to remain quiet. You disappoint me, 007.

  9. August 10, 2006 1:38 pm

    “you said ‘don’t do x or i’ll x’”

    Which must mean you’re referring to the “next time someone does . . .” part, which is an expression . . . oh forget it. Not worth it.

  10. August 10, 2006 1:43 pm

    Not worth it.

    Not capable of it is more like it. We’ve had a similar rhetorical tussle in the past over at NIT. And then, like now, you took your toys and went home with some vague reference to your superiority (which you clearly don’t have – but I guess makes you feel better).

    Regards,

  11. August 10, 2006 1:48 pm

    Ooh, did I hurt your feelings before Uncle? Sorry I don’t recall, it just wasn’t important enough.

  12. August 10, 2006 1:58 pm

    No, you started some cry-baby debate over something (can’t recall what). I said you were full of crap. You took your toys and went home. Apparently, it’s a pattern and denotes your inability to reasonably engage when challenged. That and feigning superiority and resorting to juvenile insults. But, hey, whatever floats your boat. I won’t be back.

    BTW, I suppose i could have paraphrased your ultimatum as ‘if someone does X, I’ll X’ instead of ‘don’t do x or i’ll x’, which I’m assuming is your silly little point. You can’t deal with substance, so attack the form? And I could call your ‘ultimatum’ an ’empty threat’ but I was trying not to offend.

  13. August 10, 2006 2:10 pm

    I never get any credit for remaining quiet.

    Besides, you were just begging for me to say that. Like cookies fresh from the oven, I cannot resist.

  14. August 10, 2006 2:13 pm

    Oooh, guess I hurt your feelings again, uncle. Obviously struck a nerve. I know you lot hate it when the inferiors get all uppity.

    Yes, you will be back to see whether or not I responded. So, one thing we do know is that you’re dishonest.

    There’s nothing to reasonably engage with here (though anyone could see I did engage). You referred to a colloquialism as an “ultimatum” and now an “empty threat.” It certainly wouldn’t have offended me if you had called it an “empty threat,” but you’re welcome to try me sometime in person, lad.

  15. August 10, 2006 2:14 pm

    oooo, cookies!

Trackbacks

  1. SayUncle » Defensive about offense

Leave a Reply

