Skip to content

Hits keep on comin’. We still talking honestly here?

August 11, 2006

(More?) Proof that Democrats can be dumb asses, too. Former Colorado governor Dick Lamm claimed that Asians and Jews have more ambition than Hispanics and Blacks (no word on how he feels about the hakajin). Well, he got back up from current Republican governor Bill Owens, who wished his kids had more of that chutzpah, that samurai spirit. (found at Mixed Media Watch)

“There are many days … when I wish they’d have more aspects of Jewish and Asian culture. I wish they’d get up earlier in the morning,

That’s the well known “early riser” stereotype. What other “aspects” would he like his kids to have, I wonder? I imagine him fighting the impuse to say “I wish they were greedier.” . . . He ain’t done being dumb.

My kids are all Anglo,

Really . . .

they’re Irish, English and they’re wonderful kids and I wish they’d work a little harder sometimes . . .

So, does he think his kids do nothing but get drunk and eat potatoes then?

This is the absolute opposite of what I was talking about re: white people talking honestly about race. Morons like these two elected officials (still makes me a little queasy to think about it) think they’re being “frank.” They’re just revealing their own prejudices instead.

Owens is right about one thing. We need to have a debate about what makes certain groups successful. I don’t think he’d have anything worthwhile to add, though.

Godspeed, you model minorities.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2006 2:34 pm

    Would it be ok if I call you Sunshine? You are so brite. Well he’s not right about the Hispanics they have lots of ambition. Blacks have no ambition for what I can see from the past40 years. Back in the 60s they had it.

  2. August 17, 2006 2:37 pm

    At least I can spell bright, lunchbox. One more post like that and you fall into troll status.

Trackbacks

  1. Talking About Race

Leave a Reply

