Skip to content

Roots Game Theory

August 29, 2006

I’d planned to make a review of that record (out today) a part of a podcast I’d been working on, but just never found the time to complete it. I finally got a chance to sit down and listen closely last night and confirmed my first impression, the record is a masterpiece. It is certainly the best thing they’ve done.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anole permalink
    August 29, 2006 6:58 pm

    Please describe in detail why you think “Game Theory” is The Roots’ best album and a masterpiece. I had the complete opposite reaction and would like some dialogue.

  2. August 29, 2006 8:00 pm

    I’ll be explaining in my podcast. I predicted people would have this reaction because of the second half of the CD. Really, the first half is pretty much Roots 101, Don’t Feel Right, Game Theory, etc sound very much like things they’ve done in the past. Like I’ll describe later, when the chord changes during Here I Come, it’s like you step through the looking glass. After that song the record changes from “good but to be expected Roots jams” to “holy shit.”

  3. August 30, 2006 1:18 am

    It wasn’t Here I come, btw

  4. August 30, 2006 9:02 am

    I completely agree with you on this one. On my first listen I thought it was good, but not great. Then it grew and grew on me. I have been listening to it for a month straight now.

Leave a Reply

