Skip to content

Only in the Modern Era

September 8, 2006

I don’t know if enough people know who Lee Siegel is, let alone know what The New Republic is (and what it used to be), however, some person has taken it upon themselves to satirize the deposed TNR blogger on a faux blog. The author claims to be a former editor of Siegel. I wonder why a former superior of Siegel would take the time to do this, but well it is kind of amusing. It contains the kind of humor that would appeal to those so in the know they know that her father was part of the Manhattan hoi-polloi (being the American expert on Buddhism) in the 80’s, so much so that he was featured in a GQ layout with a young Uma. So . . . er, I guess it sort of appeals to me, then. Seems so . . .

This is the kind of thing that is a creature of the Internet age. Sure, a short piece satirizing a figure like Siegel might have found a spot in the old Spy magazine, or in the back pages of the Voice (when it was what it used to be). I don’t think it would have been given a weekly column.

The world is too goddamned meta for its own good.

Meanwhile, Dreamhost is cocked up. I may as well watch Clean while I have a spare moment.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2006 7:32 am

    I loved me some old “Spy” magazine.

  2. September 10, 2006 1:26 pm

    I held on to copies for a long time, though eventually they were resigned to the dustbin. If I’d had a scanner at the time I’d have saved my favorite bits.

Leave a Reply

