Skip to content

WTF?

October 12, 2006

 

brittney said…

The last time I saw Shawhan he was selling me a movie ticket. Now, I’m not one to knock someone’s profession, but if you are going to insinuate that hundreds of locals don’t function as well as another blogger (one of your co-workers–not mentioned, natch), you’d best be doing something more lucrative and respected than tearing my freaking movie stub.

You forgot to mention that he’s an NYU grad and one of the most read film critics in the state, which is actually his profession, print journalist. And film maker.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2006 7:18 am

    Shawhan’s swipe at anyone who dares to self-publish (and not also write for the Scene) was immature, ignorant and insensitive. I stupidly reacted to his insult in that same manner. I regret it.

    Yes, I do take stuff too seriously. It’s something I’m working to rectify.

  2. October 13, 2006 11:47 am

    Swipe at anyone who dares to self-publish? No. If there’s anyone around who typifies the indie film, “self-publishing” spirit, it is Jason. What is an indie filmmaker but a self-publisher? I know people are going to have their opinions on the Scene’s critical take on local blogs. Let’s not forget where this really started. It wasn’t so much the Boogertown piece, but the whole Spragens vs. the blogosphere battle. And Garrigan’s piece on vlogging, where she rightly pointed out the growing influence of bloggers while noting that most media consumers are with print. So it’s kinda funny that many responses to the piece include the notion that “nobody reads the Scene anymore,” which is out of touch with reality. The evidence is in the commentary. If no one read it, no one would know about the article to complain.

    What’s also funny regarding Jason’s piece abt this here blog is that props only went to people associated with the Scene, so by implication that the accolades were an undeserved piece of nepotism (Like I said, that’s happened to me before, so I ain’t sweatin’ it). Seems that only Sarcastro was able to disagree using the same tact with which the piece was written, a discussion of merits. That Jason chose to explain what he didn’t like as well as what he likes, well, that’s what us critics are paid to do.

    I’d have let things slide, however if there’s anyone associated with the paper who are the opposite of elitist, it’s Shahwan and Ridley, couldn’t let that slide. It is gracious of you to fess up.

  3. October 13, 2006 12:11 pm

    Hurray for me!

  4. October 13, 2006 5:48 pm

    If no one read it, no one would know about the article to complain.

    Well, I only read what was linked from NiT. And then dug around the site to find out the results of Knuck’s voting. I truly only read it when a blogger brings it to my attention.

Leave a Reply

