Skip to content

Battlestar Galactica and Heroes. Pshaw.

October 23, 2006

Battlestar Galactica
Moore and company have fallen back on old Star Trek tricks. Having painted almost all the characters into corners that would have changed things to a great (and possibly more interesting) degree the writers pulled out the giant “reset” button. Starbuck is no longer a mom (the hints were there already that the child was not hers, since there is only one “savoir child” in existence, as Xena keeps telling us). The Pegasus is gone (just like in old school BSG). Hilary Clinton is President again. Everyone’s back on the road again, looking for Earth. I suppose in the next ep., Apollo will go on a miracle diet. Last week’s episode was Red Dawn-ed to the max. Where’s Ron O’Neal when you need him? He gave one of the best “Our adversary is to be admired, not underestimated” speeches in all of schlock action movie history.

Heroes
I’m always one to give sci-fi shows a second chance, no matter how much I hurl during the premier episode. So with a rare few free hours I sat down to view the Heroes marathon. It’s still a corny crock with poor acting, with characters (and relationships) stolen from other better series. Psychick sat down for the last half hour and upon hearing my synopsis, immediately noticed the similarities between the show and an old manga she used to read as a teen, “Jo Jo’s Bizarre Adventures.” Funny that upon researching the book, I found that Hiro is portrayed as a huge fan of “Jo Jo’s Bizarre Adventures.” So not only is the series ripped from today’s TV, it’s ripped from yesterday’s manga. Well, at least the writers acknowledge this, unlike this one show people loved. Also, why is Hiro carrying a katana in the future why.

Well, I’m still nursing a strained lower back/hip flexor so I suppose the marathon was a good compliment to vegging out.

I really haven’t had a chance to get to Lost this season. I don’t see why people think that the lack of answers to their questions makes the series bad now, though. Isn’t that the ride, what happens now? Like with the two aforementioned series, I know what happens now. Even when, like with the opening episodes of BSG season 3, I thought I was getting a plate full of surprises, I only got a bowl of plain old Cheerios.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2006 2:04 pm

    Ever seen Lain: Serial Experiments? It’s one of my favorite anime series, and the “save the cheerleader, save the world” whisper seems jacked straight from that show. Heroes seems very derivitive of more obscure art and media, but has almost no original qualities I can find worth watching.

  2. October 23, 2006 3:37 pm

    Yes, I saw Lain. Boy that takes me back. I’m not sure they knew what to do with it at the end, however I found the first half of it pretty facinating.

  3. November 2, 2006 5:10 pm

    I’m either lucky or stupid, but I’ve never gotten into anime, which is why “Heroes” all seems fresh and new to me. It’s apparently Cliffs Notes anime.

  4. February 15, 2007 5:28 pm

    SciFi2u giving you Battlestar Galactica and the latest in SciFi.

    http://www.sciFi2u.com

Leave a Reply

