Skip to content

Seriously, Ask a Black Man

December 13, 2006

Too often I see some making assertions about how people of color think or feel or talk or their belief systems without actually having queried at least ONE person from the group they’re talking about.

If there is something you absolutely must know, feel free to ask. Be prepared to; a) have your question and answer posted for the world to see, b) be clowned if so deserved, be a recipient of the “Eat a D*ck” award. No anonymous questions answered.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2006 3:16 pm

    OK, here’s my question: what’s the “eat a duck” award? Or is that “eat a dock”?

  2. December 13, 2006 4:36 pm

    well it ain’t either of those . . .

  3. Ryan permalink
    June 20, 2008 10:55 pm

    I’m a white man, and there’s a new source for racism amongst whites towards blacks and other minorities. Their benefits, in short. Affirmative Action (which I’ve learned benefits white women more than any other “minority”), Scholarships based on ethnicity, ect. So I look around and I see many minorities being offered these benefits, and it angers me. My best friend growing up was black, and I’ve never looked at a race through bigoted eyes. However jealousy is easily born through seeing the opportunities that are offered to minorities. Over time this creates hate, and racism. Now I’ve had the foresight to see this, and have subdued my jealousy and saved my annoyance from the minorities themselves and aimed them at the institutions that afford the opportunities. My question is, will there ever be a point in time when we will be seen as equals, and either:
    A: everyone will have an equal amount of opportunities, or
    B: opportunities based on skin color or gender will cease?

    Also, as much as black culture portrayed in the media are quick to bring up their hardships, past and present, as being related to their skin color, makes me wonder if there is a number of them that don’t want racism to die. This would result in equality, and there would no longer be a reason to be afforded opportunities based on gender/race. I’d like a black perspective on this, as I think that this kind of racism is replacing the old “the south will rise again” racism. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to bring this up. (Also, bear in mind that I don’t justify or condone this kind of racism, only that I understand where it starts, unlike the racism of old)

  4. Nate permalink
    January 22, 2009 11:45 am

    This is for Ryan above. Wat u said about the scholarships and other economic handouts and etc. to us in the black community it makes sense and I understand where your coming from. However, just because your best friend was black growing up doesn’t mean you fully understand the history or the thoughts of Black Americans when issues of an oppressive history is brought up and we “just so happened” to be the victims of it. Everywhere in the world (if not all most) when injustice has been done to a certain race, religion, etc. of people they have received some kind of apology and amends. WW II the jews received land and massive amounts of money from the rest of the world in Germany to help rebuild and that’s just one of the major examples cuz I know it’s something you’ve heard about. I’ve yet to hear someone apologize or even offer reparations (which will probably never happen) so until then, if ever, then these opportunities which can be understandably seen as a new form of breeding racism should never cease. Another reason is that 70% of Black American households is single parent with less than average money to meet the neccessities of life. In saying reference to my second point, these types of opportunities are drastically needed especially with the high rate of drop out which we lead in, criminal statistics (which in part can be related to profiling), and death rates among youth. This gives us something to look forward to for a bleak future. I’m not asking for sympathy or teying to make antyone feel bad, I just want you to get a full understanding.

  5. latrece permalink
    May 8, 2009 2:48 pm

    wat dose hip-hop do for your community

  6. January 30, 2010 4:30 am

    While i usually were trying to compose on my web-site something like yours in some way you have published a bunch high-quality points here. I had browse onto the particular topic and additionally noticed nearly all folks will agree with your web site.Great work!Should you need it here service the place you can potentially grab HD Camera by going online

Leave a Reply

