Skip to content

David Lynch’s Inland Empire: wtf

February 21, 2007

I sat through a screening. Intellectually, thematically, emotionally, the film made little sense upon the inital viewing. As a collection of individual scenes, most were imaginative, suspenseful and at times unsettling (I kept thinking of Kiyoshi Kurosawa’s Pulse when I wasn’t thinking of Mullholland Drive). I suppose if you look back at the film’s end (if you last that long), especially during the credits, you can accept it as Lynch mashing together his favorite themes. Mostly, it’s about Hollywood. And Vine. His fanatics will bust a nut over the cameos. Dern may be the first actress to get mentioned as a candidate for the 08 Oscars, though she has a couple things working against her; the last two scenes and that I don’t know how many Oscar voters are going to watch this thing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mr. pink permalink
    February 22, 2007 12:17 am

    You were there too? How did I miss you? Yeah, for about an hour I was pretty much mesmerized; then it just seemed kinda half-brilliant, half-self-parody. Shooting on cheap-ass video didn’t help Lynch pick and choose between his best and worst ideas. Great closing half-hour, though, and Dern is game for everything Lynch throws at her; there are also a couple of mind-blowing time/space-bending shots I don’t think any other director could pull off. (Tell me who else could obliterate 24 hours in the blink of a cut that shifts the actress’ position on a couch.)

    Pulse is a good call.

  2. February 22, 2007 10:27 am

    Yeah I got there late and of course had to run out halfway through the closing credits (well after the Nina Simone tribute fortunately). I did notice a curly haired dude shifting in his seat down front 🙂 but I really had to get back to the office.

    I am pretty amazed at Dern’s total trust in Lynch and the skill to do whatever he asks. And Crimp was scarier than Ian McShane in THAT SEXY BEAST. The DV did add some intimacy when needed, and the shittyassness of it made the grimy scenes more effective. However, there were times when I just couldn’t take it. I can hear MD’a groaning now.

Trackbacks

  1. Nashville is Talking » Say No More!

Leave a Reply

