Skip to content

BRACKET! F*CK It

March 25, 2007

Watching Roy right now. Didn’t need him to explain how our perimeter players threw up some shots that were. . . um . . bad. Uncessary. Then again, many of our necessary shots didn’t fall either. This is what got us to the point of letting Georgetown back into the game. I think some kids saw a 11 point lead and thought that was enough, so they wanted to look good. The guards threw up some shots that were ill advised, including the last three pointer before the end of regulation (I’d thought he’d take advantage of them backing off him).

Georgetown was never playing a bad game at any time. They were in trouble of course, with fouls, not to mention the score at the half. The Heels were rebounding and shooting better at that point, Terry hit some key shots from the wing, yet generally we didn’t need to worry about the perimter game. When we started the shooting draught, Georgetown kept at their pace, and put themselves in a position to win by simply not falling off. IN OT of course the wheels just came off.

I do think G-town got away with some fouls. Okay, I got that off my chest.

This was of course endemic of our season this year, as I’ve noted here all season, our boys drift somewhere around the first part of the second half when we have a reasonably substantial lead. This time it came back to bite us. I don’t know that this is something that a coach can control, maybe it’s time for a team psychiatrist.

That is, if the kids return. Hansbrough will return, that’s the scoop. Wright, I don’t know. He should. I heard that Ellington and Lawson were talking about going early. Are they insane?

Well, looks like Steve Lavin got the last word.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2007 11:09 am

    I was rooting hard! If UNC had won, my bracket was in good shape. Now I need Ohio State to wreak revenge for you.

    Hoya Hater

  2. March 26, 2007 2:10 pm

    lol. I’m not a Hoya hater, well, maybe a little now. I will be pulling for OSU in that game, however, I’d prefer Florida or UCLA to take it.

  3. bridgett permalink
    March 28, 2007 10:26 pm

    Condolences, man. It gave me a funny “laugh when you wanna cry” line the following day describing the falling apart of Metacom’s confederacy after his death…”sort of looked like UNC in overtime….” The students thought it was funny, anyhow.

Leave a Reply

