Skip to content

Does Hip Hop Hate Women, They asked

April 13, 2007

This evening I attended the Rap Sessions panel discussion on hip hop culture and sexism and mysogyny which was given at Vanderbilt. Even though I was on the same page with most of the panelists already, they did say some things that made me think. I would certainly be more articulate about this if I had some sleep. [edit: the recording can be found here rap sessions panel audio ] Actually, I wont talk too much about it because I may do a piece on it elsewhere AND I plan on making my recording of the session available to download (please ignore my coughing and shuffling of papers while listening). I do this as a favor to all those people who have suddenly become so concerned about the affect of rap music on the African American community in the last week since I-mess began his tumble towards infamy. I’m sure you were all broken up that you couldn’t make the panel discussion, so you’ll certainly want to listen and discuss.

I heard about Imus’ being fired on the way to the session actually, and I don’t know if the panelists knew, however it was of course the first order of business after introductions. I do not take any pleasure in Imus losing his job and his going out like a SUCKA. It was sad, however, this is what happens from now on. People will express their displeasure and things will happen. I wouldn’t get too excited about this, leftists, because some of us know how a mob mentality can turn ugly and give you a comebacker to the dome.

Virtually all the panelists had written about sexism and rap music, and all were in agreement about the scapegoating of hip hop, especially during the I-mess.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bridgett permalink
    April 13, 2007 11:57 am

    Mark, you will be doing me a favor, anyhow. I was at a panel on digital media, racial representation, and black filmmakers up in NY and was arranging to tape interviews with the panelists for later podcasting. Maybe we can trade.

    The upraised fist of the Left can turn into to a fascist salute of the Right pretty much on a dime.

  2. April 13, 2007 3:38 pm

    “The upraised fist of the Left can turn into to a fascist salute of the Right pretty much on a dime.”

    That’sa good one, I’ll have to remember that.

    Why does everyone talk about hiphop like it’s one unified voice? Some solitary voice that unilaterally speaks for itself. No one ever talks about whether or not rock music hates women. Well, at least, not this decade. I guess hiphop is the new rocknroll.

  3. bridgett permalink
    April 13, 2007 6:48 pm

    Yeah, I wish it was original to me…it’s an observation that a working-class Hispanic woman made when she explained why she wasn’t so hot on unionistas gringas like me. The put-down sounded better in Spanish.

Leave a Reply

