Skip to content

Steve Gilliard passes away

June 3, 2007

I learned from the Unapologetic Mexican that Steve Gilliard of newsblog passed away today. I came late to his blog, unlike many, many others on my side of the political fence who were regulars at his spot. Excuse me for being “racial” for a moment, however, he was one of the few very widely read African American bloggers who commanded a large audience for his intellect rather than bufoonery or solipsistic snarky attitudes towards a percieved status quo.

I’m fully expecting a nice send off from James Walcott. Don’t let me down, man.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bridgett permalink
    June 4, 2007 4:12 pm

    Damn. I hadn’t heard.

    Are we ever not being racial? I find it hard to type without my conciousness, myself, though it sometimes must seem like it’s my ass doing all the talking…

  2. June 4, 2007 5:17 pm

    Yeah, that “racial” comment was b/c I have been told I talk about race too much. Then again, I’m sure there are those who think I don’t write about it enough.

Leave a Reply

