Skip to content

Glen Hansard

February 25, 2008

I remember listening to a band called The Frames DC, Glen Hansard’s band, at the old Tower Records listening station back in 95. I thought the record Fitzcarraldo was one of the best records I heard that year. I sat back and folded my arms, waiting for the rest of the world to catch up with me and come in and crown this band king. That never happened, and at least on this side of the Atlantic. Even though the Oscars are as unreliable as it gets when it comes to taste making, this year makes twice (at least) that they’ve done well on the Best Song category (Three Six’s win being the other).

Also, this year I realized ’95 wasn’t the first time I’d heard Hansard. He was in the 1991 film The Commitments.

PS  – There Will Be Blood >> No Country for Old Men

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

