Skip to content

AZN Television finally finished

April 4, 2008

Found this in my Email box this morning.

The management of AZN Television regrets to announce that the channel will be taken off the air effective April 9 at 12 p.m.

AZN was having difficulty gaining advertisers and distribution. After considerable review of the network’s financial situation, it was decided that it was no longer financially viable.

We thank you, our loyal viewers, for your support of AZN over the years. AZN has paved the way for Asian American television and wishes other media outlets success in creating compelling programming and fostering Asian American talent.

I thought AZN was finished some time ago after a similar announcement, and even wrote a letter to Comcast urging them to keep the channel after they were going to drop funding it. AZN limped on, providing my mother in law with a Sunday evening’s entertainment (the channel’s all Japan evening) when she was in town.

I can only guess why the channel failed financially. Likely one part of it is that they failed to capitalize on trends in the marketplace. i.e. failed to exploit the otaku’s desire for anime programming, failed to capitalize on the Japanese horror fad. Given the larger populations of Chinese and Korean Americans AZN was wise to focus on programming in these languages, however your typical white person (heh) is perhaps a bit more interested in Japanese cultural exports. But that’s partially me rooting for the home team.

There was also a lack of compelling original programming. The few original shows they aired were constantly repeated, as if they made only three episodes but aired them five times a week.

Even with the weaknesses, we will miss AZN, if for nothing else, Fujusankei news and the occasional surprise showing of Wong Kar Wei flicks.

[addendum]

I recall a news report about Comcast’s decaying HD picture quality due to compression of the signal in order to squeeeeeze as many HD channels into their feed as possible. I wonder if AZN wasn’t dropped in order to make room for HD?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Chad G. permalink
    April 11, 2008 2:27 am

    It’s sad to see that AZN is gone. I’d be watching it since late 2002, back when it was “The International Channel”. Back then it had shows from all over the world, not just Asia. Also, their Japanese programming on Sunday nights ran for much longer than it did on AZN (it ran from 7 PM to midnight, as opposed to AZN’s 9 PM to midnight).

    I admit, I watched it mostly for the Japanese programming, since I’m a fan of all forms of Japanese television. But I did enjoy the non-Japanese shows. I don’t like to limit myself.

    Out of curiosity, did anyone see what happened when AZN went off the air? I wanted to be there for the end, but I overslept, and I really regret that. Did they play a final message, or did they unceremoniously pull the plug?

    • December 31, 2009 5:02 pm

      I know how you feel I used to watched it a lot and got very addicted to that channel. I wasn’t there when it went off the air but I wish I did.

  2. Jason permalink
    April 12, 2008 1:16 pm

    Oh, dude…it was sad. The last programmes on AZN were a 3 hour indian movie, then a half hour Indian cooking show, and then… “paid programming”. That was it for us out on the West Coast. Don’t know if the schedule or programme listings are different in other regions. I think the staff was pretty bitter and felt betrayed by mega-gigantic-cable-rapists Comcast…(which they were). At least some of them were, apparently, moved to “other departments”…hope that’s true. If anyone knows how to find out what channel the programmes moved to, or if there is any International Channel revival or what…I can find painfully little info on what became of my beloved shows!

  3. April 13, 2008 10:05 pm

    these guys look good please contact your providers!
    http://www.iatv.tv/index3.php

  4. April 14, 2008 9:53 am

    The loss of AZN was a great shock to me, a white american. I followed many of the historic series such as Jueoug, Dae Jo young and more. Their scenery, acting and overall historic qualities were superb and the subtitling was sharp, not done in a quick flash as most are, it gave you time to read it all.

    One thing that always made me hesitate on buying the series from the AZN store was the prices. Most are over $85. for a volume…that is double what you would pay in a local store in New York.

    Jack B

  5. blop permalink
    June 5, 2008 9:51 pm

    Man…I got back from college for the summer a couple weeks back and was pretty excited to get back to watching all the asian dramas again! I didn’t know what was up when I couldn’t find the channel and then thought that the channel number had been switched. It really hurts me cuz this was one of my favorite channels. I really hope the channel can come back in the future. I’d been a vivid viewer since it was called the International Channel. T.T

  6. September 7, 2008 7:53 pm

    I have now found kbs/MediaTV and it amazes me that they have a good quiantity of commercials from the New York area and good shows…Why was AZN not able to do this?

    I guess they did not have a person qualified to handle their advertising or this
    was not thought of as a reason for lass of revenues?

    Hope someone in the executive branch can come up with an idea for revising AZN TV and its historic shows.

    Jack B.

  7. September 7, 2008 7:54 pm

    I have now found kbs/MediaTV and it amazes me that they have a good quiantity of commercials from the New York area and good shows…Why was AZN not able to do this?

    I guess they did not have a person qualified to handle their advertising or this
    was not thought of as a reason for lass of revenues?

    Jack B.

  8. September 7, 2008 7:55 pm

    last line of reply …please change lass to loss.

  9. Guadalupe L. Gill permalink
    September 30, 2008 11:15 pm

    I was deeply distressed on the cancelling of AZN. I loved this channel it had so many great dramas, mini series and documentaries. It was so versitale in its chose of so many kind of movies of different asian countries.

    I have truly missed this channel and I know so many people felt the same way. They have not voiced its disappointment because they have no where they can voice their disillusionment.

  10. Greg B. permalink
    October 23, 2008 5:07 pm

    I am one more of the AZN mourners. Does anyone have any copies of “Whats up thailand?” that used to play on AZN? I will gladly pay cash…

  11. Drink 7UP permalink
    October 31, 2008 3:19 pm

    NOOOOOOOOO!!

  12. Sophia B permalink
    January 5, 2009 12:06 am

    Please give us back AZN, I deeply miss this channel.
    I am devoted to AZN forever.

  13. Nelson permalink
    March 18, 2009 6:14 pm

    Yeah, I used to watch the AZN network religiously when I worked in Alaska during the summer and fall. I am Black American, and I thought the network was a interesting and good idea. One it reminded me personally that India, is in fact a part of Asia which we in the West tend to only think of as consisting of China and Japan (Russia being just misplaced) Thank goodness I videotaped a several hours that I can watch from time to time. I do hope someone tries something like this again in the near future.

  14. Leonora permalink
    April 22, 2009 10:37 pm

    Between February 2006 and August 2006, I watched nothing but AZN.

    Unfortunately, I was laid off and from about 11:00 in the afternoon until the channel signed off (or perhaps paid programming came one), I watched AZN. I know it’s been off the air for a while now, BUT I STILL MISS IT.

    Sad to say…it really was one of the the most exciting things in my life at the time (OK. The World Cup was a wonderful passtime also). Anyway, I said all of that to say: This is still very sad and truly unfortunate.

  15. Koushiro permalink
    June 28, 2009 3:28 pm

    This just give me more dislike for a faulty American
    Society as an African/Asian i see nothing good about this place 6 channels catering to latinos 2 channels
    that are for African-Americans and one of those channels comes in shitty.

    I’m sick of it.
    the rest of the stations cater to stupid moronic Teenagers and shut ins.

    I feel the lost of a tv station the only tv station that
    shows actually good shows is sad.

    because if i have to see another “stupid life of the american white teenager i’m going to go on the rampage”!!!!!!!!

    because both american hollywood and tv lost all reason and imagination.

    • Oraiya permalink
      November 15, 2009 9:13 pm

      I know how you feel and that’s why I berry myself on my laptop watching anime since cartoonnet works sucks.

  16. Oraiya permalink
    November 15, 2009 9:09 pm

    I will always miss AZN it was the only program that I would watch when I come home from school. I’ll miss the anime shows they watch since they don’t censer or skip a scene in the shows. Like how Sifi skipped parts in Decadents of Darkness (Like how Hisoka accidentally drinks Tsuzuki’s wine). I’ll miss Dai Jo Young (sorry if I spelled it wrong) and many other.

    T.T

  17. Suki Blue permalink
    December 17, 2009 6:40 am

    I for one totally miss AZN! My Cable got turned off for a year when I finally got it turned back on it was gone:(…I use to love the pop music show and the Korean Soap Opera like shows…I hate American Soaps, but I could watch a Korean Soap all dang day…and I also will miss the Bollywood Movies they showed:(….so sad….is there any hope that they will bring it back? Also does anyone know if any of the programing is floating around the net anywhere?

Trackbacks

  1. AsianWeek » Comcast drops ImaginAsian TV
  2. AsianWeek » Bad Signal from Comcast

Leave a Reply

