Skip to content

Next Big Thing: Masia One

May 22, 2008

I’m sure none of you remember when I used to complain about the doofuses trying to make Tigarah into a star (based solely on the faulty idea that she was the next M.I.A., as if that’s a good thing) while there were all these other female MCs, Japanese or otherwise, who could blow her off the block. Here’s one more, Canadian (Singaporean) MC Masia One. The hip hop blogs will be talking about her, and I’m probably taking money out of my own pocket by writing about her here instead of Vibe or som’fin. Her second album is supposed to drop this summer, and if samples are any indication it’s gonna be a beast (the first record was okay, I wasn’t blown away, frankly, but my how she’s improved).

Miss Rap Supreme indeed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Daryle Lockhart permalink
    May 23, 2008 2:13 pm

    Though I don’t like this video, she has a nice style. You are correct. She could be big!

  2. May 27, 2008 12:50 am

    Thanks for the plug 1 plug 2 … much appreciated

    Enjoy the plug 1 plug 2…PULAU PROMO!!! (unreleased tracks)
    DOWNLOAD HERE:
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/9spuip

    $$$ money can always be made.

    *** Album PULAU July 2008 ***
    http://www.masiaone.com
    http://www.myspace.com/masiaone

    one love.

  3. May 27, 2008 2:29 am

    one love, queen. Thanks for the link. I was mad tempted to keep it to myself.

    Daryle, I’ve been wondering when you’d pop up here.

  4. September 30, 2008 11:16 am

    Send me your mailing address at info@masiaone.com and I will mail you an album. This video was my interpretation of WARRIORS but the song is very different from the other tracks on the album.

    one love
    masia.

Leave a Reply

