Skip to content

Mickey Kaus is an idiot

July 10, 2008

Kaus thinks Obama is being condescending. He probably should have taken a cue from David Gergen, who, last night on CNN argued he was not in the best position to comment on how Obama’s town hall lecture would play in the Black community, being a middle aged White dude and all.

Truth is, most Black men of a certain age have probably heard Obama’s speech 30 times, delivered as an aside at family gatherings and sermons. I remember my parents having some guests over, a pair of physicians, married, when I was in high school talking about playing football at some D-1 school . . . I hoped. The male admonished me that I was too small, and that someone like Lyle Alzado could snap me in two easily (little did he know that if I’d just taken roids like Lyle I could have prevented such an event from being possible). Don’t focus on sports! he exclaimed.

He was simply telling me to count on my academic skills rather than hoping to become a professional football player, something of which I really had no intention of becoming. I knew that 6’1″ + 210 lbs + 4.55 40 yd dash time does not equal NFL caliber dback 99% of the time. He didn’t have to sell so hard.

But that wasn’t going to stop me from trying to become a good collegiate athlete. The good doctor likely knew that as well. If I wanted it bad enough I was going to keep at it no matter what anyone said.

The speech is only meant to get those dreamers’ heads out of the clouds. A little reality check never hurt anyone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2008 9:23 am

    Consider yourself lucky. At 5’9″, 175, with a 4.5 40 yard dash time, I actually played a little semi-pro ball, until I was injured badly in my third game.

    I heard that same speech, only it didn’t dissuade me one bit.

  2. bridgett permalink
    July 10, 2008 9:32 pm

    I heard the same speech about college because I was a working-class girl. No way I was going to be able to afford it. No use to it. Education would be wasted on me because I was just going to get married and have kids anyhow. It doesn’t hurt to know the obstacles and that not everyone has your back in this life.

Leave a Reply

